For the cut list, tools, and materials needed for this project, scroll down to the bottom of this page.

Steps for Adding a Clamp Rack to a Workbench

Step 1: Create a layout that works for your tools

To get started, I laid out all of my medium and small clamps to determine a layout. I created a 6-inch inset on one end of my workbench, so the clamps could hang in place without me bumping into them. My plan was to create a shelf for my K-Body Parallel Clamps, Variable Spring Clamps, and Premium Spring Clamps, followed by a dowel that will hold a roll of plastic for paint projects along with a cutter. Below the mainline, I planned to mount my one-hand trigger bar clamps on their sides followed by my angle clamps and their table clamps, and then fill the middle with two sizes of ratcheting spring clamps.

Step 2. Cut plywood and drill holes for custom shelves

With my layout planned I cut a 4-inch-wide strip of leftover plywood to length for the first shelf and mitered a few angled support blocks. I drilled pocket holes in the pieces and secured the blocks under the shelf with glue and nails making sure to direct all the pocket holes toward the back for later installation. Next, I drilled holes in two more blocks to create a holder for the dowel. And drilled pocket holes in one of the pieces, so I could attach it to the back wall. Then, I cut a strip of thin hardboard to hold the cutter along the bottom of the mount. Finally, I drilled pocket holes in a 1x4 board to create a rod for the trigger clamps and a 1x2 to create a rod for the ratchet clamps.

Step 3: Assemble your prepped pieces

I assembled two blocks to create four corner pieces that will hold my angle clamps. With my pieces prepped, I started to attach everything to the workbench starting with the long shelf where I mounted the parallel clamps and spring clamps in place. Next, I screwed one block for the plastic roll to the back wall and the other to the sidewall. I could then nail the hardboard in place and add the cutting strip and the roll of plastic on the dowel. I screwed the blocks to the back wall for the one-hand trigger clamps, staggering their height to make more room. And then added smaller 1x2 blocks in the middle for the two sizes of my ratcheting clamps. Finally, I added the corner blocks along the lower section using pocket hole screws and then added the angle clamps. I also added a 1x2 block beside them to hold their table clamps. And with that, my ultimate mobile workbench was complete! To see the other customizations I made to this bench, click the links below this video:

Building a Mobile Workbench with Built-In Table Saw Adding Tool Organization to a Workbench Building DIY Drawers Creating a Dust Collection System Adding a Downdraft Sanding Station

Cut list

¾” Plywood shelf – 1 @ 4” W x 27 ¼” L ¾” Plywood supports – 2 @ 4” W x 4” H ¾” Plywood angled supports – 4 @ 4” W x 4” H ¾” Plywood angled supports – 4 @ 4” W x 3 ¼” H ½” Dowel – 1 @ 14 inches 1x2 Hangers – 3 @ 4 inches 1x4 Ends and hangers – 4 @ 4 inches

Materials

¾” plywood (use leftover pieces from mobile workbench frame) (1) 1 x 2 x 6 (1) 1 x 4 x 6 (1) ½-inch dowel (1) 1/8-inch plywood or hardboard to hold plastic roll cutter Wood glue 1 ¼-inch pocket hole screws Plastic roll with cutter (4) Angle clamps (4) K-Body parallel clamps (4) Variable spring clamps (4) Premium spring clamps (4) One-hand trigger bar clamps (4) Small ratcheting clamps (4) Large ratcheting clamps

Tools

How to Add a Clamp Rack to a Mobile Workbench - 99How to Add a Clamp Rack to a Mobile Workbench - 72How to Add a Clamp Rack to a Mobile Workbench - 45How to Add a Clamp Rack to a Mobile Workbench - 50How to Add a Clamp Rack to a Mobile Workbench - 7How to Add a Clamp Rack to a Mobile Workbench - 26